Posted by: kaitagsd | August 24, 2009

Wasting time

I have wasted enough time lately to actually realize something.

You sit there for hours, not really doing anything, not doing what you might want to ideally do.

And of course we can begin with a quick case study of me:

There’s a lot of distraction going on. Everytime I hear footsteps encircling my room or to some vicinity, I get really disturbed. This comes from the nature that I have to alt-tab every time I’m playing a game to prevent getting discovered.

That’s one of the reasons I can hardly focus on anything.

There’s also the computer of course, which tempts me to open up websites such as Facebook, Youtube… you know the drill. And there sits some Rubik cubes that are very tempting to play around with.

Then there’s msn. I think I will be getting into the practice of going offline more to prevent myself from playing DotA. Though, I think not being in the room in the first place is the BEST idea.

But here’s the dilemma. The computer takes a big toll on my energy levels. I slept on the carpet for almost 2 hours straight after playing a DotA game. Now I haven’t been to the gym for almost a week and a half. Sadly, I think if I wanted to go, it would have to be in the morning.

There are, however, better ways to waste time. I find watching a good drama or movie is a good way to use this time. You watch people socialize, you get insights into life (most are healthy and have some kind of theme or moral, not that I’m trying to be in a high school English class again). Most *good* dramas or movies greatly inspire me for a while, or change my mood effectively.

But in the end, with the school year coming, I can not afford to stay in this room for most of my day anymore. I am considering giving my desktop away, or simply just installing a desk or small workspace in another room.


Leave a Reply

Categories

