Posted by: kaitagsd | February 26, 2010

Taking notes

I’ve found that taking notes on the computer is surely a lot better than by hand. However, it is hard to keep track of the notes you take if you save them as separate documents and have them all over your hard drive.

So I use Google Documents. I used to try Evernote, Ubernote, but those are too messy. I never liked Evernote’s interface or design, it didn’t appeal to me. Ubernote is more compact, but it also… doesn’t look that esthetically pleasing. There is also Google Notebook but it has been discontinued, however it still exists and is a decent choice.

I find a lot of people would use Microsoft OneNote. Maybe its just me, but I’ve had bad experiences with it. I have 3 computers, and I don’t trust the syncing feature. I’ve had it mess up on me. So now I use Google Docs. You can access it anywhere for sure, and it won’t mess up sync-wise, because its all stored online, instantly.

The best part of it is being able to type math equations with ease. No more typing “x^2” or root(b^2-4ac). There is an implented LaTeX equation typer, so its all easy! I’m sure you could do the same with Word or OneNote perhaps, but when it comes to taking notes, I want things to be as hassle-free as possible.

It is relatively easy to preview what you’re doing. イタナチカニラミ

You can instantly see what you’ve done. Superscripts would be something like x^{2}, and subscripts would be something like x_{2} for example. Fairly intuitive.

Nothing new, but makes life easier.


Leave a Reply

Categories

