Posted by: kaitagsd | July 29, 2010

How to buy from Upiece

Upiece and Akbobada are both great sites for piano scores.

I have been desperately looking for scores of kpop that I really like, but usually the ones I end up finding are piano melody versions, not the accompaniment versions that feature vocal + piano scores.

I previously tried to buy off Akbobada but I was unsuccessful. I spent a good hour figuring out Upiece (a good stretch of my patience) and it paid off, since I got myself from nice new scores!

They cost money, and you’ll need a credit card. They’re incredibly cheap compared to most western sites though, with the prices running at 500 – 900 won. I topped off my account with 2000 won to start with, costing me only $1.7~ Canadian. Bought two scores. Happy as ever.

Problems you’ll encounter:

My firefox and chrome always tell me that the site is dangerous. I have to check a box to ignore the warning and press a button to proceed every single time. I think this security warning thing can be turned off though.

First go here: http://www.upiece.co.kr/member/membership.asp

1.

clip_image002

Check the box and click the orange button

2.

clip_image004

Enter your desired username in the first box.

The second two boxes require a KSSN. Look for KSSN list on google and try entering those long numbers till it lets you through to the next page. This step shouldn’t take long, only took me 2 tries.

3.

clip_image006

This is the next page translated by Google Chrome.

Statement and SSN will be filled in already.

Choose a username (don’t think it can be same as statement?) and then click the orange box to verify availability. If it doesn’t let you it means the username is taken.

Pick a password that is 3-10 digits.

Now the tough part is zip code, got me stuck.

First, press the gray button.

You’ll get a small popbox window with a message saying:

찾고자 하는 동 (읍/면/리)을 입력하세요

예) 삼성동, 대성리

What I did was I copied and pasted 읍 into the box and clicked the button. Then I got a long list of addresses or something. Press any Selection button. And it should give you a zip code.

The address should also fill in itself.

For the No Address part, I just filled in something like 123.

Now you should be able to login with USERNAME + password (not statement).

4.

Click the stacks of coins button at the sidebar which leads you to http://www.upiece.co.kr/rate/coin_main.asp

5. I myself clicked this button to topup using VISA:

clip_image008

6. Enter a minimum of 1000 won. To know how much X won is, use any currency converter calculator like XE.com

clip_image010

Click the green button.

7. Which takes you to verify the amount. Press the green button again.

clip_image012

8. After the green button you’ll get a popup from INICIS looking like this…

clip_image014

After you enter your credit card number, the bottom few query lines will change into just the expiration date line.

A window will pop up asking for your VISA bank password. You will have to make an account if you haven’t already done so. This and the payment process is in English, so don’t worry about any Korean.

clip_image016

clip_image018

^ just telling you to wait.

When all is said and done (you get a popup saying its done in Korean), you should now have some visible cash in your account (redirects automatically to this site after your transaction completes):

clip_image020

So with some easy math we can see that:

I topupped 2000, spent 900 and 900, topupped another 2000.

I have 2200 left, spent 1800, and have put in a total of 4000.

9. Now for some fun. Look for a song and on the right press the magnifying glass to preview, and the download icon thing to buy.

clip_image022

After you buy, you’ll be redirected to a page like this showing all the scores you’ve bought. You can then view the full versions.

clip_image024

Note:

On the left of the song name, there is either numbers 1 2 or 3. 1 means melody only, 2 means piano version of the song, and 3 means vocal accompaniment version. Hopefully you know the difference already.

v\:* {behavior:url(#default#VML);}
o\:* {behavior:url(#default#VML);}
w\:* {behavior:url(#default#VML);}
.shape {behavior:url(#default#VML);}


Responses

  1. I got stuck, when they wanted to install something on my computer. I refuse that. Maybe my loss.


Leave a Reply

Categories

